Choosing.

Choosing.

This is a word much used and very misunderstood.

 And this word above is in a tense that implies ‘going to’, isn’t it?

 As in, ‘I’m choosing to . . . ‘.  Really? When. Have you chosen yet?

 Although it sounds like “I’m choosing [now] to…” followed bywhatever action is being undertaken (see below for a test), it’s actually saying and feeling, ‘I’m going to choose for the future this . . . _______’.

 That’s just it. “I’m choosing to __________” includes the feeling that you/I/we don’t already possess what it yearned for in our heart of hearts, whether great work, great recompense, great health, great family, great whatever.

 Try it: Insert your most simultaneously feared and yearned-for word of this moment to test this:

 I’m choosing to________

I’m choosing to live fully…

I’m choosing to ‘be happy’ …

I’m choosing to leave this closet of dread . . .

I’m choosing to attract _________ whatever it is you feel you don’t have…because clearly you don’t. You’re still choosing it.

 

Now try it in the active form:

 I choose . . .

There’s a sense of immediacy about this.

 It serves to pop the energetic bubble of despair and let the fresh air in.

 It serves to make now (as it is above, so it is below) joyous, abundant, life-filling happiness incarnate. Try it:

 I choose happiness. 

(Now! Pop! There it is!).

 

I choose joy in life and living fully

(oops, it’s already underway by the time you’ve added “and living…”).

 

I choose ____________ ; by the time you’ve said ‘leaving this closet of despair, you’ve already left.

 

I choose ___________  [to attract ] — again, no time to “attract” but rather to experience it as it’s here and now, as in:

I choose abundance;

I choose great work;

I choose health . . .

And the important thing is it ‘feels’ as if it’s already here.

Because it is:  As it is Above, So it is Below: Joyous; Spirit; Loving; Abundant; Light-filled. Choose it — oh, here it is!

 

‘I choose’ is a prayer of now.

 

‘I’m choosing’ is a ‘gonna. It’s a category into which we pour our future hoped-for experiences.

 

‘I choose’ is a dare to self to live, now.  Try it:

I choose love.

I choose you.

I choose abundance.

I choose this company/work/hours/exchange of life-for-security (seeming).

I choose this person to be my beloved.

I choose health.

I choose joy.

I choose life.

 

And, of course, that’s all any of us can do: choose moment by moment.

‘I’m choosing to . . .” seems to put a Life of living off for just a moment for an added clause ‘to be/do/soon’ an infinitive of infinite time forthcoming. It feels like fingers crossed behind the back and the teeniest bit of doubt in one’s heart. “I’m choosing to (at some uncertain time) to . . . , really, I am!”

 

It’s amazing what 3 little letters can do to drag out despair in a moment and leave us hijacked by our ‘intent’ — ‘I’m choosing to . . .’  is kind of like “warming up the tele’ “for those who remember sitting around waiting for the TV picture tube to ‘warm up’ into the picture we waited (and waited and wanted) to see.

 

There’s a lot in the world about choosing and choice, so forgive me if any of this is a repeat of others. I’ve found, however, that we each mix up the two phrases very often, especially when reaching for a feeling of ‘things are going to get better,’ we often reach for the ‘best thought we can,’ and that thought tends to push things into the future, rather than right now.

I am choosing, or, I choose. Now.

‘I choose’ also gets around the feeling that there’s a distance between what is reality now and what you hope for: even when there’s little abundance in sight, affirming “I choose abundance” pops the yearning and despair and gives instant “yes, I do” inside.  “I am choosing abundance” just has a ‘to come someday’ added on to the back of the feeling. What is in back of the feeling is what is real to you, now, in this moment. So choose. Now and wholly in the only moment you control. Now.

 

So, try it. From my workshops and consults, I find that starting here:

 

I choose  ______________ (top five items for Now)

1)_________________

2) _________________

3) _________________

4) ________________

5) ________________

 

… pops the energetic bubble of despair and brings happiness, joy, abundance and, perhaps most importantly, the clarity of “Yes, I choose __________ ” to your Life-time. Playing Right Now.

 

Blessings on your choices today,

Elizabeth Darby

 

 

Leave a Reply, Ask a Question, Contact!

